The Heath Quartet

Oliver Heath (violin)
Cerys Jones (violin)
Gary Pomeroy (viola)
Chris Murray (cello)

The Heath Quartet was formed in 2002 at the Royal Northern College of Music, under the guidance of the late Dr Christopher Rowland and Alasdair Tait. The Quartet are now themselves Professors of Chamber Music at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama.

Since being selected by YCAT and winning 1st Prize at the Tromp Competition in 2008, the Heath Quartet have forged a strong international presence. In 2011, they were awarded a prestigious Borletti-Buitoni Special Ensemble Scholarship and undertook complete Beethoven cycles at the Facyl Festival in Salamanca and in Edinburgh. They went on to win the 2012 Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Highlights in recent years have included recitals at Wigmore Hall as part of the Emerging Talent scheme, including the premiere of a new work by Luke Bedford, and collaborations with Stephen Hough and Ian Bostridge. The quartet made their debut at the Kissingen Winterzauber, Schwetzinger and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festivals; the deSingel Arts Centre in Antwerp; the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels; the Berlin Konzerthaus; and the Stadtstheatre in Grein. They also and appeared at the Salisbury, Spitalfields and Peasmarsh Festivals. The quartet also toured throughout the Netherlands and Argentina, and returned to Banff to work with the Florestan Piano Trio, the Tokyo Quartet, Colin Currie, Michael Collins, Joanna MacGregor, Bram van Seembeck, and composers Brett Dean and Steven Mackey.

Other engagements have included the complete Tippett and Bartók cycles, and a recital with the soprano Anna Caterina Antonacci at Wigmore Hall, as well as debut recitals at the Louvre and Musée d’Orsay in Paris, and return visits to the Concertgebouw and their debut in the United States.

“It was lovely to hear playing that had a genuine intimacy about it.”


“Broad paragraphs of bold expression were avidly pursued but always stemmed from a lucid intellectual plane.”

The Strad

“A performance exceptional in its perception…”

The Herald

“…the music’s potency and bravura were conveyed with thrilling conviction.”

The Guardian

Click here for more information.

Performing in Adderbury…

July 10, 2016 at 19:45

  • Mozart String Quartet No 17 in B flat, K458 (“The Hunt”)
  • Bartok String Quartet no 3
  • Beethoven String Quartet, op 127

Buy Tickets on the Door

Tickets can be purchased at the door on the evening of the concert. Advance tickets can be booked by telephone, in person or online from Tickets Oxford (see below).

  • £15.00 adults
  • £13.00 full-time students, senior citizens and children 10-16
  • £13.00 Friends of Music in Adderbury (adult)
  • £10.00 Friends of Music in Adderbury who are full-time students, senior citizens or children 10-16
  • Free admission for children aged of 5-10 accompanied by an adult. (Please note: we do not allow children under the age of 5.)

Buy From Tickets Oxford

Tickets can be purchased in advance from:

Tickets Oxford (+44 1865 305305)
The Oxford Playhouse
11-12 Beaumont Street

Click here for more information on Music in Adderbury venues and ticketing.